Screenshots from Anime

Homework giving you a headache? Math gives you a migraine? Can't quite figure out how to do something in photoshop? Never fear, the other members of CAA share their expertise in this forum.

Screenshots from Anime

Postby Rusty Claymore » Sat Apr 10, 2010 12:25 am

How do you get screen shots from anime shows? I want some pics of Kurogane from Tsubasa, for example, and there aren't very many. I know about getting them through windows movie maker, but I am wondering if there is a way to get them without downloading the episodes.
Proverbs 31:32 "...when she watches anime, she keeps the room well lit and sits at a safe distance."
User avatar
Rusty Claymore
 
Posts: 1258
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 2:18 pm
Location: Alaska

Postby Midori » Sat Apr 10, 2010 1:20 pm

There's a print-screen key on most keyboards that's supposed to take a snapshot of whatever is on your screen, so if you can make it do that while you're playing the DVD on your computer it ought to take a screenshot.
User avatar
Midori
 
Posts: 1805
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 6:43 pm
Location: Mingling with local sentients

Postby Rusty Claymore » Sat Apr 10, 2010 1:54 pm

Ah, thanks. I knew about print screen, but I never could get it to work so I thought it required a special program or something. As it turns out it sends it to the 'clipboard' so you can paste it into a graphics editing program, like MS paint. So, question answered! Thanks, Midori!
Proverbs 31:32 "...when she watches anime, she keeps the room well lit and sits at a safe distance."
User avatar
Rusty Claymore
 
Posts: 1258
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 2:18 pm
Location: Alaska

Postby Wyntre Rose » Sat Apr 10, 2010 9:13 pm

I have actually tried this, and for some reason, when I do a print screen, whatever it is I caught will then move with the video once it's playing again, and when the video is done, it will be a black box or just blank. Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong?
User avatar
Wyntre Rose
 
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 12:28 pm
Location: Pretty close to the middle of the Mitten.

Postby Mithrandir » Sat Apr 10, 2010 9:17 pm

I've had this happen too. I'm not exactly sure why it does, though. I have two guesses why it my be...

My first guess is that the graphics card can do the video decoding in hardware, so the buffer that the print-screen command is reading doesn't ever actually see the data.

It's also possible it's just a copy-protection thing, and the MPAA asks the OS manufactures to cripple that function for DVD playing applications.

I can't say for certain, though.
User avatar
Mithrandir
 
Posts: 11071
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2003 12:00 pm
Location: You will be baked. And then there will be cake.

Postby Wyntre Rose » Sun Apr 11, 2010 7:50 am

Oh.

I have to admit, I don't 100% understand what you said about the graphics card, etc...:sweat: But I did gather that it's probably not going to be something I'll be able to do anything about, right? lol.
User avatar
Wyntre Rose
 
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 12:28 pm
Location: Pretty close to the middle of the Mitten.

Postby Arya Raiin » Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:21 pm

Wyntre Rose (post: 1387361) wrote:Oh.

I have to admit, I don't 100% understand what you said about the graphics card, etc...:sweat: But I did gather that it's probably not going to be something I'll be able to do anything about, right? lol.


Mith's very good a speaking techish! ^_^

Mith doesn't like speaking any other language too much thought... ;)
Image
User avatar
Arya Raiin
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 10:33 am
Location: In a galaxy far, far away...

Postby Rusty Claymore » Sun Apr 11, 2010 10:03 pm

Mith works at University. Or something. He out brain feebles who are we. Does it do that even if you paste, save, then close both programs without resuming the DVD?
Proverbs 31:32 "...when she watches anime, she keeps the room well lit and sits at a safe distance."
User avatar
Rusty Claymore
 
Posts: 1258
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 2:18 pm
Location: Alaska

Postby Wyntre Rose » Mon Apr 12, 2010 2:37 am

Rusty Claymore (post: 1387580) wrote:Mith works at University. Or something. He out brain feebles who are we. Does it do that even if you paste, save, then close both programs without resuming the DVD?


[quote="Arya Raiin"]Mith's very good a speaking techish!^_^
Mith doesn't like speaking any other language thought... ]

:lol: to the both of you.

@Rusty Claymore: Yeah, it does. :sniffle:
User avatar
Wyntre Rose
 
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 12:28 pm
Location: Pretty close to the middle of the Mitten.

Postby MightiMidget » Mon Apr 12, 2010 3:24 pm

Download VLC Media Player and then pause, right click and then I think go Video --> Snapshot. That's how I get my screencaps from DVDs. VLC is not a shady player either, the tech support guy had at one point recommended it to my Dad to download to make things work better. So it should be clean.
User avatar
MightiMidget
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 12:10 pm
Location: @nevermorelit

Postby Wyntre Rose » Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:22 pm

Actually, I already have a VLC player, so I will give it a try. lol. Just a sec...

:o Oh my gosh, it worked!! :hug: You're a genius!!
User avatar
Wyntre Rose
 
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 12:28 pm
Location: Pretty close to the middle of the Mitten.


Return to Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests