How to build a website

The geek forum. PHP, Perl, HTML, hardware questions etc.. it's all in here. Got a techie question? We'll sort you out. Ask your questions or post a link to your own site here!

How to build a website

Postby wiggins » Tue Dec 16, 2003 9:04 am

OK! I'm a complete newbie, but err...how do you make a cool websites with animated icons and all that other generally cool stuff?
Being a Christian makes me a different otaku; Being an otaku doesn't make me a different Christian!
wiggins

Postby Mithrandir » Tue Dec 16, 2003 9:28 am

Is there anything in particular you want to put on it? That's a fairly broad scope question, there.
Mithrandir

Postby inkhana » Tue Dec 16, 2003 9:33 am

If you've got Photoshop 7 or Imageready, you can make it a fairly quick, painless process using the "slice" feature on a correctly-sized background image (sort-of "advanced" technique if you were doing it by hand, but works well for me). If not, I recommend as an HTML editor 1st Page Express. I won't say anything more til I know what you want to do though...^^

BOOSTER: Hey, No.1! Where's my cake?!
SNIFIT 1: Booster, Sir! There's a 70% chance the object you're standing on is a cake.
BOOSTER: What? THIS thing's a cake?

You have the power to say anything you want, so why not say something positive?
- Frank Capra

(in response to an interview question "Do you have a pet peeve having to do with this biz?")
People who write below their abilities in order to crank out tons of books and make a buck. Especially Christian authors who do that. Outsiders judge us for it, and make fun of us for it, and it makes Jesus look bad. We of all artists on earth should be the most concerned with doing our best possible work at all times. We of all people should write with all our hearts, as if writing for the Lord and not for men.
- Athol Dickson

Avatar by scarlethibiscus from LJ.
inkhana

Postby wiggins » Tue Dec 16, 2003 10:20 am