How do I explain Christ to an 8 year old without angering parents

The purpose of the forum is to allow people to post spiritual questions for which they would like answers from their fellow board members.

How do I explain Christ to an 8 year old without angering parents

Postby Gala » Tue Jan 29, 2013 8:09 am

Hey guys,

I'm a tutor to two wonderful little boys in a home where I am not sure about the family religious convictions. However, the oldest boy (age 8) keeps asking me about "That Jesus guy who died on that cross thingy and God". He vaguely heard about Him one day in class while listening to the other students but is afraid to go ask them about Him.

I don't want to anger the parents but I know I was placed with this family for a reason. I did give this boy a vague description of God and what Jesus did for our sins but he is dying to know more. How do I go about this subject? Should I talk to the dad first (he's the only one who speaks fluent English out of the parents and other adults) or should I just try to teach him myself?

I'm used to being asked by adults and not children and I know that preaching or teaching Christ to children whose parents are against it or may be against it, can cause problems.

I just feel in my heart of hearts that this is what I am supposed to do and why I was placed with this family.
Gala

Re: How do I explain Christ to an 8 year old without angering parents

Postby Atria35 » Tue Jan 29, 2013 8:18 am

Fisr and foremost, you talk to his parents. Both of them. You're job isn't to teach this kid religion, and that's something that you should be respectful of. Approach it the same way that you would want someone to handle it if it were *your* kid and a different religion. And that means putting EVERYTHING through the parents.
Atria35

Postby Xeno » Tue Jan 29, 2013 8:53 am